DTE Home Protection Plan

Get a Free Quote

DTE Home Protection Plan Review

We have an incredible influx of negative reviews coming in for DTE Home Protection Plan and understand your frustration. While we regret to inform you we are unable to directly assist with any of your issues, we urge you to check out American Home Shield as a replacement to your protection plan.

Click Here for a Free Quote for AHS

Whether you are purchasing a new home or have been a homeowner for years, a plan from DTE Home Protection Plus is a great investment. You never know when the appliances or systems in your home are going to break down or wear out. When they do, you could be faced with a hefty fee to repair or replace the appliance or system. With a plan from DTE Home Protection Plus, you don’t have to worry about that. They provide comprehensive coverage options that will save you the hassle of finding a contractor and paying a huge fee. A plan from DTE Home Protection Plus gives you peace of mind knowing that you are covered if something goes wrong.

What Does DTE Home Protection Plus Have to Offer?

  • No hidden fees. While many home warranty companies charge a per-claim or service trade fee or deductible, DTE Home Protection Plus does not. You will not be charged for the service call or parts and labor. There are no co-pays or deductibles either.
  • Professional and experienced technicians. DTE Home Protection Plus offers their customers comprehensive coverage and “repairs are done right.” They work with a vast network of local, trustworthy, and licensed service technicians to perform all repairs and replacements.
  • Customizable plan options. Whether you want to protect all of the appliances and systems in your home or just a few of them, DTE Home Protection Plus allows you to choose your coverage. There are also plenty of optional add-ons you can opt to add value to your plan.
  • Submitting a claim is easy. If something goes wrong, you’ll be glad to know that using your DTE Home Protection Plus plan is easy. Just call the company help line 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year at 800-556-0011.
  • Plenty of savings and rebates. Not only do DTE Home Protection Plus plans start at just $3 per week, but they offer plenty of options for additional savings and discounts. DTE offers rebates for some major manufacturers as well as a discount for AAA members. You can also earn cash using their Friends and Family referral program.
  • Convenient payment option. Rather than having to remember to pay another bill every month, the charge for your DTE Home Protection Plus is added directly to your DTE energy bill. Coverage begins 15 days after your enrollment has been accepted.

Costs and Plan Options

DTE Home Protection Plus offers their customers a variety of plan options for various home systems. The Core Plan is the most basic option, and the Platinum Plan is the most comprehensive. You also have the right to add optional coverage for other appliances and systems that are not covered by these plans – optional coverage is offered on a per-appliance or per-system basis. Below you will find a comprehensive list of what is covered under each plan.

Core Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)

Core Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Core Plan is $14.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Kitchen Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)
  • Refrigerator
  • Range/Oven/Cooktop

Kitchen Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Kitchen Plan is $19.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Laundry Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer

Laundry Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Laundry Plan is $19.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Convenience Plan

  • Refrigerator
  • Range/Oven/Cooktop
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dishwasher

Convenience Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Convenience Plan is $19.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Ultimate Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)
  • Central AC
  • Refrigerator
  • Range/Oven/Cooktop
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer

Ultimate Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Ultimate Plan is $29.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Platinum Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)
  • Central AC
  • Refrigerator
  • Range/Oven/Cooktop
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Chest/Upright Freezer
  • Microwave

Platinum Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Platinum Plan is $37.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Optional Coverage Add-Ons:

  • Furnace/Boiler Safety Check ($6.95/mo)
  • Boiler Protection ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Furnace ($6.95/mo)
  • Central AC Unit ($6.95/mo)
  • Additional Water Heater ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Range/Oven/Cooktop ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Refrigerator ($4.95/mo)
  • Dishwasher ($4.95/mo)
  • Chest or Upright Freezer ($4.95/mo)
  • Microwave ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Washing Machine ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Clothes Dryer ($4.95/mo)

The DTE Home Protection Plus does not charge service call fees or deductibles – you only pay your monthly premium in exchange for service. Not only do you not have to pay a per-claim fee, but DTE will find a qualified technician for you and send him to your home. You will not pay anything for parts or labor, either.

Contracts and Restrictions

To view a copy of the DTE Home Protection Plus service contact agreement, click HERE.

The Effective Date is the date on which DTE enrolls the customer in the selected plan and service can begin 15 days after the effective date. Home Protection Plus coverage continues for a contract year and the anniversary date is the annual recurrence of the effective date.

DTE may cancel the contract at any time with or without cause. If you wish to terminate your coverage within the contract year and have received service, you will be responsible for the remaining installments of the contract year. Home Protection Plus coverage is not transferrable.

If you have prepaid your annual fee and DTE cancels the contract without cause before the end of the contract year, you may receive a prorated refund of the fee.

The property enrolled in Home Protection Plus must be located within DTE Energy’s utility service area and must have an active utility service agreement. All equipment must meet code requirements and be reasonably clean and safely accessible.

Home Protection Plus programs are available to qualified DTE Energy customers only, and pricing is subject to change at any time.

Customer Satisfaction

DTE Home Protection Plus offers a wide variety of product choices with plenty of optional add-ons. Customers can speak to a Customer Service agent by phone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and you can submit your claim online or by phone. You will not be required to pay any service fees or deductible when filing a claim.

The Better Business Bureau accredited DTE Home Protection Plus in 1924, giving it their highest rating of A+. Though the company is highly rated by the BBB, they do have some customer complaints on file. You can find reviews (both positive and negative) online.

When you compare DTE Home Protection Plus to some of its competitors, you will see that there are some advantages as well as some disadvantages. The main advantage DTE Home Protection Plus offers their customers is protection from hidden fees – there are no service fees or deductibles to worry about. As far as disadvantages, pre-existing conditions are not covered.

If you have further questions about DTE Home Protection Plus, their plans, or their service agreement, call toll-free at 800-556-0011 to speak with a Customer Service representative.

The Bottom Line

The DTE Home Protection Plus program is different from a traditional home warranty in several ways, but it may offer good value for current DTE Energy customers. DTE customers can choose from half a dozen plan options with a dozen or more optional add-ons, giving them complete control over their plan. Unlike most home warranty plans, you won’t be charged a service call fee or deductible, and you won’t pay anything for parts and labor. The charge for your DTE Home Protection Plus plan will be added directly to your DTE energy bill.

Leave Your Review

* Required fields. To help us better our reviews, please provide the email address used when signing up for this review.

33 Reviews for “DTE Home Protection Plan”

  1. Barbara kurash
    1

    I had 3 service men hear last week.and the boiler is still making noise.they need to purge the lines. I am so tired of calling. They need to get better trained service men. The first we are,he acted like he was on drugs.the second one was very regent,and it leaked after he left. The there was nice but he still did not fix my problem. I need a manager to call me. He never did. Please help I spend a lot of money each meat. Please help.

    Posted on January 16, 2019
  2. Denise S
    10

    I have had the ultimate plan for the last 5+ years and so far they have fixed my dryer twice and my dishwasher twice. All of this would have been over $500 dollars for parts plus the cost of labor. I have been absolutely satisfied with all the diagnostic and repair people. It brings me a huge sense of relief that I can have someone attempt to fix the issue versus paying for it. I keep my appliances for as long as I can and this has been amazing!

    Posted on January 12, 2019
  3. Reyes
    1

    I have been enrolled in the DTE Protection Plus program since October of 2017. All I can say is the customer service representatives are rude and should not be working with any company when they lie to the customers! What’s the whole point of having “this” program? It’s supposed give me relief at night knowing if anything happened to my appliances I wouldn’t have to worry about, right nope wrong! I recommend to everyone to not get sucker in this program! They will not cover anything that is basically not New!!! I’d advise you not to pay anything because all they do is give you the run arounds and not resolve anything!

    Posted on January 10, 2019
  4. Irene Luc
    10

    Awesome service!! Thank you. Called for a failed furnace at 5:30 am fixed by 8:30 am!!!! Good deal!!

    Posted on January 10, 2019
  5. Valarie A Atkinson
    1

    DTE Home protection plus is a scam. They do not provide a repair service and take your money.

    Posted on December 4, 2018
  6. Barbara A
    10

    I was very satisfied with Steven. He came and did the job in a timely manner. Prior to Steven three other techs came bit was unable to complete the job and had no knowledge of what the problem entailed. Several days I was without heat, Then on 11/27/18 it was so hot I almost suffocated. The tech Coleman told me don’t touch the thermostat and I need to call s furnace Co. to repair the thermostat wire. The first service tech said it was the censor the second tech replaced the censor because the first tech did not replace it. I am a 60 year old women with Lepus and diabetes suffering with three broken toes. I thank God for Steven intelligent and knowledge to complete the Job on my furnace.

    Posted on November 29, 2018
  7. Pamela JONES
    5

    I called the HOME PROTECTION PLAN phone number to schedule a look at my Boiler because it would not come on. I told them we have two babies under 1 years old and a two years old toddler. they gave a appointment 6 days later. They did not show up but told their office they did. I told time off work and lost a days pay still no heat in my home. I called back they did not try to make it better for the mistake they told me I had to make another appointment and wait this time only 4 more days. they say they are calling b4 they come but I never got this call. Whats worse is i am paying for poor service and truly they don’t care about DTE Highland Park customers!

    Posted on October 24, 2018
  8. Mary
    1

    WORST SERVICE EVER. I WOULD NEVER USE THEM AGAIN. I CALLED DTE BECAUSE COOL AIR WAS COMING OUT OF MY VENT S, WHEN THE TECHNICIAN ARRIVED, MY HEAT WAS WORKING. I IMMEDIATELY TOLD HIM THAT HIS SERVICES WERE NO LONGER NEEDED. HE INSISTED UPON COMING INTO MY HOME ANYWAY. I TOLD HIM “NO” 4 OR 5 TIMES. I FINALLY SAID TO HIM, OKAY. HE WASN’T TAKING “NO ” FOR MY ANSWER.

    THE TECHNICIAN CAME INSIDE AND UNPLUGGED MY FURNACE, TURNED MY HEAT COMPLETELY OFF BECAUSE HE SAID HE SMELLED CARBON MONOXIDE. I DIDN’T SMELL ANYTHING. HE LEFT. NOW I HAVE NO HEAT AT 32°.

    IT IS VERY HARD TO FIND A REPAIRMAN NOW. I HAVE CALLED 10 COMPANIES TODAY IN A HOUR. THEY ARE EITHER BUSY OR CAN’T COME TODAY. I AM FREEZING.

    IF DTE TECHNICIAN COULDN’T RECOMMEND A COMPANY TO DO REPAIRS, HE SHOULD HAVE JUST LEFT MY FURNACE ALONE. I NEVER NEVER NEVER INVITED HIM INTO MY HOME BECAUSE MY HEAT CAME ON BEFORE HE ARRIVED. HE INITIALLY SAID THAT I JUST NEEDED BURNERS, THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN HE SUPPOSEDLY SMELLED CARBON MONOXIDE. THEN HE TOOK OUT SOMETHING SMALL IN HIS HAND AND SAID THAT THERE WAS LEVELS OF CARBON MONOXIDE IN THE BASEMENT.

    ● I DIDN’T KNOW THAT THE HUMAN NOSE COULD SMELL CARBON MONOXIDE.

    WHAT HAPPENED TO GOOD OLD FASHIONED TROUBLESHOOTING? I GUESS HE WANTED ME TO BUY A NEW FURNACE RATHER THAN DO WORK.

    HE WOULDN’T EVEN SHOW ME WHERE THE FILTER COMPARTMENT WAS LOCATED ON MY FURNACE.

    VERY DIFFICULT TO TALK TO ANY SUPERVISOR, GET A SUPERVISOR’S NAME OR THEIR ADDRESS TO WRITE A PRIVATE COMPLAINT.

    HORRIBLE SERVICE. I AM A SENIOR WITHOUT HEAT BECAUSE OF THE DTE TECHNICIAN SINCE SUNDAY, OCTOBER 14TH, 2018. IT IS NOW TUESDAY, OCTOBER 16TH 2018 AND STILL NO HEAT OR REFERRAL FROM DTE.

    HAD I KNOWN OR WAS TOLD ON OCTOBER 14TH AT 2.30PM THAT I NEEDED TO CALL A HEATING COMPANY THAT SAME DAY, I WOULD HAVE.

    POOR SERVICE, INCONSIDERATE OF MY AGE, THE TEMPERATURE AND MY PROMPT MONTHLY PAYMENTS.

    OH BY THE WAY, THE SUPERVISOR FINALLY CALLED ME FOR THE FIRST TIME TODAY TUESDAY,OCTOBER 16TH AND SUGGESTED THAT I FIND A FURNACE COMPANY TO WORK ON MY FURNACE. ATLEAST HE FINALLY CALLED ME.

    I REQUESTED A SECOND OPINION ABOUT THE SMELL OF CARBON MONOXIDE FROM DTE ON MONDAY, OCTOBER 15TH. DTE PHONE PERSONNEL SET UP A DATE FOR 5 DAYS LATER FOR FRIDAY, OCTOBER 19TH.

    DTE WHY COULDN’T YOU HAVE TOLD ME THAT I NEEDED TO LOOK FOR A OUTSIDE COMPANY TO REPAIR MY FURNACE IF IT ACTUALLY NEEDED REPAIR.

    IT LOOKS LIKE ANOTHER NIGHT WITH NO HEAT BECAUSE THE TECHNICIAN CAME INTO MY HOME AND TURNED THE GAS OFF WITH ABSOLUTELY NO RECOMMENDATIONS.

    I COULD WRITE MORE BUT I HAVE TO CONTINUE TO LOCATE A REPUTABLE HEATING COMPANY.

    MY DTE HOME PROTECTION SERVICE WAS HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. I CALLED THEM APPROXIMATELY 12 TIMES ON MONDAY, OCTOBER 15,2018.

    Posted on October 16, 2018
  9. Franziska Shnidman
    1

    We have a DTE plan for furnace and water heater. We had a service guy check on the water heater. He rejected service since it still has manufacturing warranty. The furnace is brand new and also has warranty. DTE does not cover appliances with warranty. They also do not let me cancel the plan, since I do not have it for 1 year. So now I have to pay for a protection plan, which doesn’t cover anything. They are a scam!

    Posted on September 26, 2018
  10. Tom
    10

    When I called about a problem to a appliance I would be placed on hold and never spoke with any one. I was told DTE would call me back and it NEVER happened. They would try to sell me a more expensive plan. So I cancelled my policy. Never again!!!

    Posted on August 15, 2018
  11. R. Motyka
    1

    I am not a very big fan of DTE’s HPP. I get paid bimonthly and 8 out 10 times I pay my bill late but nonetheless the bill is always paid in full. When I recently called for service, the lady told me I owed them $180 and I asked her for what? She said I haven’t paid my bill on my HPP. I asked how do you figure seeing that my bill is x amount of dollars and I even paid a fee extra dollars. She told me that my payment was only being applied to the utilities but she could pull the amount I owe them to bring my HPP up to date. I said ok that’s fine. Then she proceeds to tell me if she does that then I will still owe $180 towards the utilities. What?! How the f**** does that make sense? If my bill is $365 which includes the charge for this stupid plan and I paid you $370, how would I owe you $$$ still? Yes I understand my bill is late but I paid in full and then some! Then she told me to hold why she got someone else to explain it to me, I told her no I won’t hold but what you can do is cancel my plan! Makes absolutely no since to me.

    Posted on August 4, 2018
  12. denise
    1

    Called about a past due bill that I had no ideal I had . My bill was down to Zero in December. Never received anything as of today 07/30/2018 saying I owe a balance to them now that I have enrolled in a program got my first bill that was over $235 more them budget I spoke with Mr. Brown at DTW who informed me that is was due to the Home Protection Program and she transferred me to them spoke with Christina who was very unpleasant asked to say with a supervisor spoke with Ken who said he was a supervisor I asked them why I never received anything saying I owe and no one could explain why but was told that when you make your payments the funds go to the bill not them so therefore you have no ideal you owe. If you received a bill with the only balance showing is your current bill how do you know you have a outstanding balance. YOU WON’T so Mr. Ken said well we will do better next time letting the customer know. I asked if I could speak to someone higher up and was told NO they do not talk to customer. WOW i

    Posted on July 30, 2018
  13. Anshul Dubey
    1

    Green Back-DTE Energy protection plan is a scam. They don’t provide you the coverage when they can’t repair the appliance. For those who don’t know what Green Back is, Green Back is a program which DTE Energy offer for about an additional $18 per month and they claim that they will issue you a check of certain $$$ if the appliance can’t be repaired.

    My refrigerator broke down in Feb 2018 and I had them come over to fix it, at that time they said that it can’t be repaired, at that time I didn’t have my green back so I thought to get a second opinion and called another independent tech who was able to fix it. Just to be safer side I also bought my Green Back in March 2018. The refrigerator worked fine until May 2018 so I called DTE energy and they sent a tech who was able to fix it but after couple of days it stopped working again, This time I had green back already so I called and explained everything to the rep. at this moment they reviewed the history and told that my refrigerator can’t be fixed and neither can it be covered by the Green Back as it has been irreparable since Feb 2018 before I had Green Back. what the heck…. Their technician last fixed it in May 2018 and at that time I also had my Green back and they still are not covering it because their system shows that the refrigerator is irreparable since Feb 2018. If this is the case, Why did they schedule their tech visit and also fix it? They are just ripping you off. I am going to opt out for green-back immediately. It’s a waste of money. Hope this review can save you some money.

    Posted on June 18, 2018
  14. Ali obeid
    5

    I used to have a green home protection plan from DTE, they offer a very good service when sending DTE employees but it is very bad when sending contracted employees from other companies, these contractors are either have no experience or trying to make you pay for unnecessary repair by CREATING A REASON to void your warranty. I had to cancel my plan because I felt that DTE is okay with that and this what exactly happened,
    My oven broke down and DTE sent me a young man from lacrosse appliances repair, he said the problem in the safety valve and It won’t be covered by DTE plan because of the power outage and he asked for $450 to be fixed, I called DTE and the specialist denied to cover it so I asked to speak to the supervisor but she told me that I am going to hear the same answer, I asked her to send me another person from another company to validate the other contractor finding but she refused to send anyone else.
    I have a little knowledge about how the electrical parts work and I know if there is a power surge, the control board is going to be affected first, I called a private repairman to check on my oven and he find out it was the igniter and not the safety valve.

    Posted on June 8, 2018
  15. Brian N Szalay
    1

    Called them about my fridge. Was told 3 parts were bad and one was obsolete but available in a off brand. Was told they dont put aftermarket parts on and didnt replace the two that were still available by the manufacturer. When asked why this wasnt made known to me and was told you probably havent received an updated book. Spent over 4000.00 on this plan and was denied service 2 of 3 times. They SHOULD be ashamed of themselves.

    Posted on May 30, 2018
  16. jeff terberg
    4

    It is May 29th I’ve been on hold for 94 mins and holding it’s 3:25pm I cant wait to see how long it takes to have a tech sent to my home. It’s also 95 degrees today. O please woun’t you answer my call I promise to be on my best behavior, it is now 3:35pm and reading some of the reviews I guess its true what they say get good service and you tell 5 people get bad services and you will tell anyone who will listen, I didn’t read any good reviews, it is now 3:45pm and they almost have me talked into a whole house plumbing plan im not sure but I think my hair is turning gray and the intense heat in my home has caused be to lose 37 pounds maybe this is a good thing

    Posted on May 29, 2018
  17. Sui
    1

    When I needed a service, I called and waiting total 80 minuets and no one answered.

    Posted on May 29, 2018
  18. WILLIAM (BRAD) Hackney
    1

    when I needed to replace my air conditioner they would not pay for replacement, it was over 20 years old, and the company that replaced my bad furnace suggested that it needed replacement also due to its age and they were installed at same time over 20 years ago. they refused to pay me the $750 due to me , because I had no prior service call on the air cond. unit, this is in January in michigan. I feel they owe me $750. the company that replaced my furnace was not their service provider under my contract.

    Posted on March 28, 2018
  19. gary manier
    1

    unfortunately this hpp program is the worst idea in the world; it borders on fraud. after you pay for years and finally need service on your furnace;they tell you they are too busy; get your own contractor;something you paid monthly for so you wouldnt have to do. when you get your own contractor and send in the bill;someone will wait almost two months to send you a letter telling you he thinks the contractor misdiagnosed the problem and then spent too long to fix it; therefor dte will pay less than half the cost of the repair; this guy sets behind a desk he is not a contractor. i payed for dte to fix my furnace problem not to fix it myself and then be cheated out of over half my money this guy mike romeo actually told me i was trying to take advantage of dte. it is dte who is taking advantage of me; if dte will take advantage of a handycaped senior citizen they will take advantage of anyone.maybe this will not happen to you but if it does do not say you were not warned gary manier troy mi

    Posted on March 5, 2018
  20. Linda Kaiser
    1

    No phone call, rep said he called and left a message, no vm. He left a card at my door, did not hear him knock, if he did.

    Posted on February 7, 2018
  21. John
    1

    Worst service ever. Don’t waste your money. What a rip off. Very sad to see a fraudulent home protection plan tarnish the good image of DTE energy. I’m definitely cancelling

    Posted on January 4, 2018
  22. Kathlene Irving
    10

    I am giving a follow up review on what has transpired since I was advised by
    Dte to have someone come out and do my ductwork.
    I hired someone to come out and do my ductwork and within minutes, the furnace company said that the sut that covered my entire house was not caused from a filter or ductwork ,but, that it was caused by a crack in the heating exchange on the furnace.
    I am confused as to why Dte would send a technician out twice,and a supervisor out and they didn’t notice the crack. It was very clear and made since.Why would Dte hold me particially responsible for a sut mess that they caused? I would like to have another investigation to resolve this issue which
    occurred after I had Dte come out because my furnace went out and the problem was mis diagnosed.

    Posted on January 3, 2018
  23. Bueller
    1

    I paid DTE 40 bucks a month for many years before i needed to call for service on my dishwasher. After lengthy phone claim they sent tech out days later. He shined a flashlight underneath it and then announced hes refusing to fix it. Why ? BECAUSE OF MOUSESHIT he saw. He says he could get sick so he doesnt have to do anything at all ! I then said ok and i so i refused to sign his papers and he left just like that. So i pulled out the washer myself vacuumed the small 24″ square inch area in under a minute and then i found a clog in the discharge line which i fished out with a coat hanger and fixed myself. INCOMPETENT TECHS

    Second claim same year my fridge was on the fritz the compressor was making funny noises but was still getting cold somewhat on and off. I called the tech for repair service. Well he shows up i tell him story and he does something and suddenly it starts BURNING SMOKE in the kitchen. I said it’s never done that before. He says YEP ITS FRIED. I said you just fried it ! look at the smoke. He says no it was already fried thats why you called in the first place. I said no it did work sometimes – now it dont at all. The doctor just killed the patient. So he then announces that the Compressor is NOT covered by warranty anyways !! Im furious it was a $2000 stainless steel giant. What kind of warranty doesnt cover the main component ?

    They dont cover the part that makes it cold !!

    USELESS WARRANTY DO NOT BUY

    Posted on November 29, 2017
  24. mark griesbeck
    1

    I had A/C problem DTE sent out a repairmen who said a power surge caused the problem. which is not covered by the warranty. I filed a damage claim form with DTE and that was denied. waste of money.

    Posted on November 15, 2017
  25. Lauri Monteyne
    10

    This plan is terrible. Our furnace went out last Friday and its still not fixed. Ive been told they couldn’t get the part, now i’m being told the wrong part came in. No heat for 5 days now!!! What kind of companies do you guys send out? I’ll tell you what kind, INCOMPETENT ONES!!!

    Posted on November 14, 2017
  26. Sheila
    2

    Don’t expect them to cover any appliance, furnace or water heater if it needs to be replaced. They only do repairs. After paying $30 for three years my water heater started leaking. They came out and said it needs to be replaced but its not covered. However, if you belong to the greenback program (another $17.95 per month) you can get a $300 rebate. So frustrated!!!.

    Posted on October 16, 2017
  27. DARRELL BAYERSKI
    1

    Horrible program. Paid into this program for many, many years. Finally had a claim on my 3 year old Samsung top of the line washer. It took 2 days to have a unqualified tech come out to my home. I knew more about my washer then he did. Could not believe he was the tech DTE sent out to my home. He was not sure how to fix my washer so he just played it off that the part was not available and could not fix it. ( the washer is still being sold at Lowes). Makes no sense! I called Samsung and confirmed the part is very much available. Tried contacting DTE it figure out was was going on and got the biggest run a round I have ever seen. Asked to speak to a manager and got hung up on three times over a 80 minute time period. I am in the process of contacting my Attorney Generals office to report this horrible scam and get my money back for the years I paid into this scam program. I also contacted my local news station producer here in Detroit to give them the story. The good news is they are going to take the story. Ya! DO NOT PAY INTO THIS PROGRAM!! You have been warned!!

    Posted on September 29, 2017
  28. James C
    1

    A “false sense of security” program. Half of the program works great, they collect the money. The other half doesn’t work because if you need something repaired, it’s not covered. On top of that they sent someone from VIP Appliance who shouldn’t be allowed out of his house. First he was speeding in the driveway (the yard was full of kids) then he comes in, tips the washer over, slams it down and goes outside to make a phone call. He comes back in less than a minute to say the needed part is not covered. A rude person like this should either work in a coal mine or become a lawyer, NOT work in residential homes.

    Posted on August 23, 2017
  29. Kathy king
    1

    I live in East Tawas Michigan. I was in this Home protection plan for 20 years . I loved it . The service was Out of Saginaw. It was Great. I love it . They stop doing it . Now it advance Electric out of Standish Michigan. I had a repair on my washer. They sent two repair men out. I think one was a trainee. The washer was off balance. They moved it . He found a plastic cap underneath it . He said that was the problem . He never turn it on to see it it worked . After they left I tried to use it . It got worse . I called the owner of Advance Electric . I told her what happened. She said that she would send them back out . I said I would like a different repair man . She said that’s all they had . I explain that I was not happy. He comment was at least you didn’t pay for it. I told her I am paying $31.95!a month for it. Called Dte they told me that she refused to send anyone else out . Because I was rude. They call her . I talked to dte 3 times . They said they were working on it . I have waited for them to get me a repair job . They said they are working on it . She is is the only Company. I have had to cancel this service that I been in for 21 years . I not going to pay for something that will no come out . The four times I call . There answer is they are working on it . I ask for $ 31.95 refund . They said I can’t have it . It just like insurance plan . I am very unhappy

    Posted on August 19, 2017
  30. JOYCE NORFOLK
    10

    I’ve had this plan for a while and at the most part it’s great for repairs but If your bill is the least bit behind they will not service you. I paid my bill up to date and two days later I called for service on my range. Mind you my bill was not due again for the next month but because the computer had not paid the protection plan I couldn’t receive a service call. DTE needs to address the issue of allowing computers to handle some of their transaction.

    Posted on June 30, 2017
  31. Juanita Reaves
    1

    DTE -HPP program does work for Its customers poor customer service resp. No people skills at all .Have tried to pay on HHPP for 3 hours, what is the problem???do you want this payment? I will not be placed on hold for hours to make a payment, do your job or give it to someone who want to work…Rating you – 0- poor service

    Posted on June 22, 2017
  32. Don
    5

    Furnace repairs have been great but out of the five calls made for other problem have had one repair fixed good my last has been a nightmare hung up on two times called daily now on day 7 and still am waiting to have my hot water tank repair! Think I will give up and repair it myself again

    Posted on June 20, 2017
  33. Geoff Sypitkowski
    1

    This is a terrible program. We have paid $38 a month for two years under this program. We have had two issues with covered appliances and both were not covered. The caveats to this program have caveats. They finally decided to cover one of the issues with an ice maker which they decided to later cover and then communicated that they do not cover the ice maker part wasting an afternoon of my time. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! DTE Energy is a poorly run company and this is an extremely poor program.

    Posted on May 25, 2017