DTE Home Protection Plan

Get a Free Quote

DTE Home Protection Plan Review

We have an incredible influx of negative reviews coming in for DTE Home Protection Plan and understand your frustration. While we regret to inform you we are unable to directly assist with any of your issues, we urge you to check out American Home Shield as a replacement to your protection plan.

Click Here for a Free Quote for AHS

Whether you are purchasing a new home or have been a homeowner for years, a plan from DTE Home Protection Plus is a great investment. You never know when the appliances or systems in your home are going to break down or wear out. When they do, you could be faced with a hefty fee to repair or replace the appliance or system. With a plan from DTE Home Protection Plus, you don’t have to worry about that. They provide comprehensive coverage options that will save you the hassle of finding a contractor and paying a huge fee. A plan from DTE Home Protection Plus gives you peace of mind knowing that you are covered if something goes wrong.

What Does DTE Home Protection Plus Have to Offer?

  • No hidden fees. While many home warranty companies charge a per-claim or service trade fee or deductible, DTE Home Protection Plus does not. You will not be charged for the service call or parts and labor. There are no co-pays or deductibles either.
  • Professional and experienced technicians. DTE Home Protection Plus offers their customers comprehensive coverage and “repairs are done right.” They work with a vast network of local, trustworthy, and licensed service technicians to perform all repairs and replacements.
  • Customizable plan options. Whether you want to protect all of the appliances and systems in your home or just a few of them, DTE Home Protection Plus allows you to choose your coverage. There are also plenty of optional add-ons you can opt to add value to your plan.
  • Submitting a claim is easy. If something goes wrong, you’ll be glad to know that using your DTE Home Protection Plus plan is easy. Just call the company help line 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year at 800-556-0011.
  • Plenty of savings and rebates. Not only do DTE Home Protection Plus plans start at just $3 per week, but they offer plenty of options for additional savings and discounts. DTE offers rebates for some major manufacturers as well as a discount for AAA members. You can also earn cash using their Friends and Family referral program.
  • Convenient payment option. Rather than having to remember to pay another bill every month, the charge for your DTE Home Protection Plus is added directly to your DTE energy bill. Coverage begins 15 days after your enrollment has been accepted.

Costs and Plan Options

DTE Home Protection Plus offers their customers a variety of plan options for various home systems. The Core Plan is the most basic option, and the Platinum Plan is the most comprehensive. You also have the right to add optional coverage for other appliances and systems that are not covered by these plans – optional coverage is offered on a per-appliance or per-system basis. Below you will find a comprehensive list of what is covered under each plan.

Core Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)

Core Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Core Plan is $14.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Kitchen Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)
  • Refrigerator
  • Range/Oven/Cooktop

Kitchen Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Kitchen Plan is $19.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Laundry Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer

Laundry Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Laundry Plan is $19.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Convenience Plan

  • Refrigerator
  • Range/Oven/Cooktop
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dishwasher

Convenience Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Convenience Plan is $19.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Ultimate Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)
  • Central AC
  • Refrigerator
  • Range/Oven/Cooktop
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer

Ultimate Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Ultimate Plan is $29.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Platinum Plan

  • Furnace
  • Water Heater (Tank)
  • Central AC
  • Refrigerator
  • Range/Oven/Cooktop
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Chest/Upright Freezer
  • Microwave

Platinum Plan Cost: The monthly cost for the Platinum Plan is $37.95. Charges for DTE Home Protection Plus plans are added directly to the customer’s DTE energy bill.

Optional Coverage Add-Ons:

  • Furnace/Boiler Safety Check ($6.95/mo)
  • Boiler Protection ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Furnace ($6.95/mo)
  • Central AC Unit ($6.95/mo)
  • Additional Water Heater ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Range/Oven/Cooktop ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Refrigerator ($4.95/mo)
  • Dishwasher ($4.95/mo)
  • Chest or Upright Freezer ($4.95/mo)
  • Microwave ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Washing Machine ($4.95/mo)
  • Additional Clothes Dryer ($4.95/mo)

The DTE Home Protection Plus does not charge service call fees or deductibles – you only pay your monthly premium in exchange for service. Not only do you not have to pay a per-claim fee, but DTE will find a qualified technician for you and send him to your home. You will not pay anything for parts or labor, either.

Contracts and Restrictions

To view a copy of the DTE Home Protection Plus service contact agreement, click HERE.

The Effective Date is the date on which DTE enrolls the customer in the selected plan and service can begin 15 days after the effective date. Home Protection Plus coverage continues for a contract year and the anniversary date is the annual recurrence of the effective date.

DTE may cancel the contract at any time with or without cause. If you wish to terminate your coverage within the contract year and have received service, you will be responsible for the remaining installments of the contract year. Home Protection Plus coverage is not transferrable.

If you have prepaid your annual fee and DTE cancels the contract without cause before the end of the contract year, you may receive a prorated refund of the fee.

The property enrolled in Home Protection Plus must be located within DTE Energy’s utility service area and must have an active utility service agreement. All equipment must meet code requirements and be reasonably clean and safely accessible.

Home Protection Plus programs are available to qualified DTE Energy customers only, and pricing is subject to change at any time.

Customer Satisfaction

DTE Home Protection Plus offers a wide variety of product choices with plenty of optional add-ons. Customers can speak to a Customer Service agent by phone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and you can submit your claim online or by phone. You will not be required to pay any service fees or deductible when filing a claim.

The Better Business Bureau accredited DTE Home Protection Plus in 1924, giving it their highest rating of A+. Though the company is highly rated by the BBB, they do have some customer complaints on file. You can find reviews (both positive and negative) online.

When you compare DTE Home Protection Plus to some of its competitors, you will see that there are some advantages as well as some disadvantages. The main advantage DTE Home Protection Plus offers their customers is protection from hidden fees – there are no service fees or deductibles to worry about. As far as disadvantages, pre-existing conditions are not covered.

If you have further questions about DTE Home Protection Plus, their plans, or their service agreement, call toll-free at 800-556-0011 to speak with a Customer Service representative.

The Bottom Line

The DTE Home Protection Plus program is different from a traditional home warranty in several ways, but it may offer good value for current DTE Energy customers. DTE customers can choose from half a dozen plan options with a dozen or more optional add-ons, giving them complete control over their plan. Unlike most home warranty plans, you won’t be charged a service call fee or deductible, and you won’t pay anything for parts and labor. The charge for your DTE Home Protection Plus plan will be added directly to your DTE energy bill.

Leave Your Review

* Required fields. To help us better our reviews, please provide the email address used when signing up for this review.

21 Reviews for “DTE Home Protection Plan”

  1. Anshul Dubey
    1

    Green Back-DTE Energy protection plan is a scam. They don’t provide you the coverage when they can’t repair the appliance. For those who don’t know what Green Back is, Green Back is a program which DTE Energy offer for about an additional $18 per month and they claim that they will issue you a check of certain $$$ if the appliance can’t be repaired.

    My refrigerator broke down in Feb 2018 and I had them come over to fix it, at that time they said that it can’t be repaired, at that time I didn’t have my green back so I thought to get a second opinion and called another independent tech who was able to fix it. Just to be safer side I also bought my Green Back in March 2018. The refrigerator worked fine until May 2018 so I called DTE energy and they sent a tech who was able to fix it but after couple of days it stopped working again, This time I had green back already so I called and explained everything to the rep. at this moment they reviewed the history and told that my refrigerator can’t be fixed and neither can it be covered by the Green Back as it has been irreparable since Feb 2018 before I had Green Back. what the heck…. Their technician last fixed it in May 2018 and at that time I also had my Green back and they still are not covering it because their system shows that the refrigerator is irreparable since Feb 2018. If this is the case, Why did they schedule their tech visit and also fix it? They are just ripping you off. I am going to opt out for green-back immediately. It’s a waste of money. Hope this review can save you some money.

    Posted on June 18, 2018
  2. Ali obeid
    5

    I used to have a green home protection plan from DTE, they offer a very good service when sending DTE employees but it is very bad when sending contracted employees from other companies, these contractors are either have no experience or trying to make you pay for unnecessary repair by CREATING A REASON to void your warranty. I had to cancel my plan because I felt that DTE is okay with that and this what exactly happened,
    My oven broke down and DTE sent me a young man from lacrosse appliances repair, he said the problem in the safety valve and It won’t be covered by DTE plan because of the power outage and he asked for $450 to be fixed, I called DTE and the specialist denied to cover it so I asked to speak to the supervisor but she told me that I am going to hear the same answer, I asked her to send me another person from another company to validate the other contractor finding but she refused to send anyone else.
    I have a little knowledge about how the electrical parts work and I know if there is a power surge, the control board is going to be affected first, I called a private repairman to check on my oven and he find out it was the igniter and not the safety valve.

    Posted on June 8, 2018
  3. Brian N Szalay
    1

    Called them about my fridge. Was told 3 parts were bad and one was obsolete but available in a off brand. Was told they dont put aftermarket parts on and didnt replace the two that were still available by the manufacturer. When asked why this wasnt made known to me and was told you probably havent received an updated book. Spent over 4000.00 on this plan and was denied service 2 of 3 times. They SHOULD be ashamed of themselves.

    Posted on May 30, 2018
  4. jeff terberg
    4

    It is May 29th I’ve been on hold for 94 mins and holding it’s 3:25pm I cant wait to see how long it takes to have a tech sent to my home. It’s also 95 degrees today. O please woun’t you answer my call I promise to be on my best behavior, it is now 3:35pm and reading some of the reviews I guess its true what they say get good service and you tell 5 people get bad services and you will tell anyone who will listen, I didn’t read any good reviews, it is now 3:45pm and they almost have me talked into a whole house plumbing plan im not sure but I think my hair is turning gray and the intense heat in my home has caused be to lose 37 pounds maybe this is a good thing

    Posted on May 29, 2018
  5. Sui
    1

    When I needed a service, I called and waiting total 80 minuets and no one answered.

    Posted on May 29, 2018
  6. WILLIAM (BRAD) Hackney
    1

    when I needed to replace my air conditioner they would not pay for replacement, it was over 20 years old, and the company that replaced my bad furnace suggested that it needed replacement also due to its age and they were installed at same time over 20 years ago. they refused to pay me the $750 due to me , because I had no prior service call on the air cond. unit, this is in January in michigan. I feel they owe me $750. the company that replaced my furnace was not their service provider under my contract.

    Posted on March 28, 2018
  7. gary manier
    1

    unfortunately this hpp program is the worst idea in the world; it borders on fraud. after you pay for years and finally need service on your furnace;they tell you they are too busy; get your own contractor;something you paid monthly for so you wouldnt have to do. when you get your own contractor and send in the bill;someone will wait almost two months to send you a letter telling you he thinks the contractor misdiagnosed the problem and then spent too long to fix it; therefor dte will pay less than half the cost of the repair; this guy sets behind a desk he is not a contractor. i payed for dte to fix my furnace problem not to fix it myself and then be cheated out of over half my money this guy mike romeo actually told me i was trying to take advantage of dte. it is dte who is taking advantage of me; if dte will take advantage of a handycaped senior citizen they will take advantage of anyone.maybe this will not happen to you but if it does do not say you were not warned gary manier troy mi

    Posted on March 5, 2018
  8. Linda Kaiser
    1

    No phone call, rep said he called and left a message, no vm. He left a card at my door, did not hear him knock, if he did.

    Posted on February 7, 2018
  9. John
    1

    Worst service ever. Don’t waste your money. What a rip off. Very sad to see a fraudulent home protection plan tarnish the good image of DTE energy. I’m definitely cancelling

    Posted on January 4, 2018
  10. Kathlene Irving
    10

    I am giving a follow up review on what has transpired since I was advised by
    Dte to have someone come out and do my ductwork.
    I hired someone to come out and do my ductwork and within minutes, the furnace company said that the sut that covered my entire house was not caused from a filter or ductwork ,but, that it was caused by a crack in the heating exchange on the furnace.
    I am confused as to why Dte would send a technician out twice,and a supervisor out and they didn’t notice the crack. It was very clear and made since.Why would Dte hold me particially responsible for a sut mess that they caused? I would like to have another investigation to resolve this issue which
    occurred after I had Dte come out because my furnace went out and the problem was mis diagnosed.

    Posted on January 3, 2018
  11. Bueller
    1

    I paid DTE 40 bucks a month for many years before i needed to call for service on my dishwasher. After lengthy phone claim they sent tech out days later. He shined a flashlight underneath it and then announced hes refusing to fix it. Why ? BECAUSE OF MOUSESHIT he saw. He says he could get sick so he doesnt have to do anything at all ! I then said ok and i so i refused to sign his papers and he left just like that. So i pulled out the washer myself vacuumed the small 24″ square inch area in under a minute and then i found a clog in the discharge line which i fished out with a coat hanger and fixed myself. INCOMPETENT TECHS

    Second claim same year my fridge was on the fritz the compressor was making funny noises but was still getting cold somewhat on and off. I called the tech for repair service. Well he shows up i tell him story and he does something and suddenly it starts BURNING SMOKE in the kitchen. I said it’s never done that before. He says YEP ITS FRIED. I said you just fried it ! look at the smoke. He says no it was already fried thats why you called in the first place. I said no it did work sometimes – now it dont at all. The doctor just killed the patient. So he then announces that the Compressor is NOT covered by warranty anyways !! Im furious it was a $2000 stainless steel giant. What kind of warranty doesnt cover the main component ?

    They dont cover the part that makes it cold !!

    USELESS WARRANTY DO NOT BUY

    Posted on November 29, 2017
  12. mark griesbeck
    1

    I had A/C problem DTE sent out a repairmen who said a power surge caused the problem. which is not covered by the warranty. I filed a damage claim form with DTE and that was denied. waste of money.

    Posted on November 15, 2017
  13. Lauri Monteyne
    10

    This plan is terrible. Our furnace went out last Friday and its still not fixed. Ive been told they couldn’t get the part, now i’m being told the wrong part came in. No heat for 5 days now!!! What kind of companies do you guys send out? I’ll tell you what kind, INCOMPETENT ONES!!!

    Posted on November 14, 2017
  14. Sheila
    2

    Don’t expect them to cover any appliance, furnace or water heater if it needs to be replaced. They only do repairs. After paying $30 for three years my water heater started leaking. They came out and said it needs to be replaced but its not covered. However, if you belong to the greenback program (another $17.95 per month) you can get a $300 rebate. So frustrated!!!.

    Posted on October 16, 2017
  15. DARRELL BAYERSKI
    1

    Horrible program. Paid into this program for many, many years. Finally had a claim on my 3 year old Samsung top of the line washer. It took 2 days to have a unqualified tech come out to my home. I knew more about my washer then he did. Could not believe he was the tech DTE sent out to my home. He was not sure how to fix my washer so he just played it off that the part was not available and could not fix it. ( the washer is still being sold at Lowes). Makes no sense! I called Samsung and confirmed the part is very much available. Tried contacting DTE it figure out was was going on and got the biggest run a round I have ever seen. Asked to speak to a manager and got hung up on three times over a 80 minute time period. I am in the process of contacting my Attorney Generals office to report this horrible scam and get my money back for the years I paid into this scam program. I also contacted my local news station producer here in Detroit to give them the story. The good news is they are going to take the story. Ya! DO NOT PAY INTO THIS PROGRAM!! You have been warned!!

    Posted on September 29, 2017
  16. James C
    1

    A “false sense of security” program. Half of the program works great, they collect the money. The other half doesn’t work because if you need something repaired, it’s not covered. On top of that they sent someone from VIP Appliance who shouldn’t be allowed out of his house. First he was speeding in the driveway (the yard was full of kids) then he comes in, tips the washer over, slams it down and goes outside to make a phone call. He comes back in less than a minute to say the needed part is not covered. A rude person like this should either work in a coal mine or become a lawyer, NOT work in residential homes.

    Posted on August 23, 2017
  17. Kathy king
    1

    I live in East Tawas Michigan. I was in this Home protection plan for 20 years . I loved it . The service was Out of Saginaw. It was Great. I love it . They stop doing it . Now it advance Electric out of Standish Michigan. I had a repair on my washer. They sent two repair men out. I think one was a trainee. The washer was off balance. They moved it . He found a plastic cap underneath it . He said that was the problem . He never turn it on to see it it worked . After they left I tried to use it . It got worse . I called the owner of Advance Electric . I told her what happened. She said that she would send them back out . I said I would like a different repair man . She said that’s all they had . I explain that I was not happy. He comment was at least you didn’t pay for it. I told her I am paying $31.95!a month for it. Called Dte they told me that she refused to send anyone else out . Because I was rude. They call her . I talked to dte 3 times . They said they were working on it . I have waited for them to get me a repair job . They said they are working on it . She is is the only Company. I have had to cancel this service that I been in for 21 years . I not going to pay for something that will no come out . The four times I call . There answer is they are working on it . I ask for $ 31.95 refund . They said I can’t have it . It just like insurance plan . I am very unhappy

    Posted on August 19, 2017
  18. JOYCE NORFOLK
    10

    I’ve had this plan for a while and at the most part it’s great for repairs but If your bill is the least bit behind they will not service you. I paid my bill up to date and two days later I called for service on my range. Mind you my bill was not due again for the next month but because the computer had not paid the protection plan I couldn’t receive a service call. DTE needs to address the issue of allowing computers to handle some of their transaction.

    Posted on June 30, 2017
  19. Juanita Reaves
    1

    DTE -HPP program does work for Its customers poor customer service resp. No people skills at all .Have tried to pay on HHPP for 3 hours, what is the problem???do you want this payment? I will not be placed on hold for hours to make a payment, do your job or give it to someone who want to work…Rating you – 0- poor service

    Posted on June 22, 2017
  20. Don
    5

    Furnace repairs have been great but out of the five calls made for other problem have had one repair fixed good my last has been a nightmare hung up on two times called daily now on day 7 and still am waiting to have my hot water tank repair! Think I will give up and repair it myself again

    Posted on June 20, 2017
  21. Geoff Sypitkowski
    1

    This is a terrible program. We have paid $38 a month for two years under this program. We have had two issues with covered appliances and both were not covered. The caveats to this program have caveats. They finally decided to cover one of the issues with an ice maker which they decided to later cover and then communicated that they do not cover the ice maker part wasting an afternoon of my time. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! DTE Energy is a poorly run company and this is an extremely poor program.

    Posted on May 25, 2017