Select Home Warranty

Get a Free Quote

Select Home Warranty Review

Whether you are buying a home or selling one, a home warranty from Select Home Warranty is always a solid investment. Your home includes many different systems and dozens of appliances, any of which could breakdown without warning. As a homeowner, a home warranty plan protects you from unexpected repairs and replacements. As a seller, a home warranty plan offers potential buyers excellent value and incentive to buy.

Select Home Warranty knows that home buyers and sellers look for comprehensive protection, trustworthy technicians, and reliable customer service- not to mention good value for their money. That’s why they offer multiple plan options with additional add-ons, all at an affordable monthly or annual price – they also offer frequent discounts and promotions.

What Does Select Home Warranty Have to Offer?

  • Free quotes online or by phone. Getting a free custom quote from Select Home Warranty is easy. Just visit the company website and type in your name, email address, phone number, address, and a few details about your home. You can also speak to an agent for a free quote at any time by calling the Customer Service number.
  • Customer Service always available. The Customer Service team at Select Home Warranty is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. You can speak to a representative by phone at 866-344-9445, or you can file a claim online.
  • Qualified, trustworthy service technicians. Select Home Warranty works with a vast network of pre-approved service technicians nationwide. Their network of service providers are highly skilled and knowledgeable, plus they are ready at a moment’s notice.
  • Affordable, customizable plan options. Not only does Select Home Warranty offer three different levels of coverage – Platinum, Gold, and Bronze – but there are over a dozen optional add-ons. Plans can be purchased annually or monthly, and all plans come with a modest per-claim service trade fee.
  • Great value and support for everyone. Whether you are a homeowner, a seller, or a real estate professional, Select Home Warranty is the smart choice. They offer plenty of resources for existing owners as well as affordable plans for sellers and real estate professionals.

Costs and Plan Options

Select Home Warranty offers their customers three plan options – the Platinum Care Plan, the Gold Care Plan, and the Bronze Care Plan. You also have the right to add optional coverage for other appliances and systems that are not covered by these three plans – optional coverage is offered on a per-appliance or per-system basis. Below you will find a comprehensive list of what is covered under each plan.

Platinum Care Plan

  • Plumbing Stoppage
  • Clothes Washer
  • Heating System
  • Water Heater
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Plumbing System
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove/Oven
  • Microwave (Built-In)
  • Cooktop
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Ductwork
  • Garage Door Opener
  • A/C, Cooling
  • Electrical System
  • Ceiling Fan

Platinum Care Plan Cost: The total cost for the Platinum Care Plan is $599 which can be paid in a single lump sum or divided over twelve months. Select Home Warranty frequently offers promotions which could help you save on the cost of this plan. Payments can be made online by Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, or American Express.

Gold Care Plan

  • Heating System
  • Water Heater
  • Plumbing System
  • Ductwork
  • A/C, Cooling
  • Electrical System

Gold Care Plan Cost: The total cost for the Gold Care Plan is $529.99 which can be paid in a single lump sum or divided over twelve months. Select Home Warranty frequently offers promotions which could help you save on the cost of this plan. Payments can be made online by Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, or American Express.

Bronze Care Plan

  • Clothes Washer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove/Oven
  • Microwave (Built-In)
  • Cooktop
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes Dryer

Bronze Care Plan Cost: The total cost for the Bronze Care Plan is $529.99 which can be paid in a single lump sum or divided over twelve months. Select Home Warranty frequently offers promotions which could help you save on the cost of this plan. Payments can be made online by Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, or American Express.

Optional Coverage Add-Ons:

  • Pool ($99.95)
  • Central Vacuum ($39.99)
  • Second Refrigerator ($39.99)
  • Sump Pump ($39.99)
  • Well Pump ($39.99)
  • Roof Leak ($0)
  • Stand-Alone Freezer ($39.99)
  • Lawn Sprinkler System ($69.99)
  • Septic System ($69.99)
  • Ice Maker (Refrigerator) ($39.99)
  • Lighting Fixtures/Plumbing Fixtures ($49.99)
  • Additional A/C Unit ($69.95/each)
  • Additional Heat/Furnace ($69.99/each)
  • Additional Water Heater ($49.99/each)
  • Spa ($69.99)

In addition to the cost of your Select Home Warranty plan, you will also be responsible for paying a $60 trade service call fee per claim. You will be required to pay this fee regardless of whether the claim is granted in part or whole.

Contracts and Restrictions

To view a copy of Select Home Warranty’s service contract agreement, click HERE.

If the Select Home Warranty service contract agreement covers a malfunctioning appliance or system, the homeowner must contact Select PRIOR to obtaining service. Failure to do so may render the claim invalid. Select will not reimburse you if you use your own service technician without prior authorization.

All systems and appliances must be in proper working order on the Effective Date of the service contract. Any pre-existing conditions or defects causing the malfunction of system or appliance during the term will not be covered.

The term of the service contract begins 30 days following Select Home Warranty’s receipt of all outstanding payments and premiums. In the event Select does not receive all outstanding payments or premiums, the service contract term will not begin. The service contract will start on the Effective Date and will remain in effect for 1 year following the Billing Date.

Select may cancel the agreement if it is deemed that the customer has engaged in fraudulent conduct, has made misrepresentations, or has failed to make required payments. You may cancel your agreement within 30 days from the Order Date at which point you will be entitled to a full refund if no service has been provided. After the 30th day, you may be issued a pro-rated refund at the non-discounted annual plan cost minus a $75 cancellation fee.

If you choose the monthly payment option and Select elects to renew your contract, you will be notified of the rate and term during the tenth month of your contract, and you will be automatically renewed for an annual coverage period unless you notify Select in writing 30 days prior to the Termination Date.

Customer Satisfaction

Select Home Warranty does their best to meet the needs of their clients by providing multiple plan options with optional add-ons. Customers can speak to a Customer Service agent by phone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and you can submit your claim online or by phone. You will be required to pay a $60 service fee per claim.

The Better Business Bureau has not yet accredited Select Home Warranty, and the company has only been in business for four years. Though the company is relatively new, you can find reviews (both positive and negative) online.

When you compare Select Home Warranty to some of its competitors, you will find advantages as well as disadvantages. The main advantage Select offers their customers is the option to customize their plan – choose from three plans with over a dozen optional add-ons. As far as disadvantages, pre-existing conditions are not covered.

If you have further questions about Select Home Warranty, their plans, or their home service agreement, call toll-free at 866-344-9445 to speak with a Customer Service representative.

The Bottom Line

Select Home Warranty understands that homeowners want to get the best bang for their buck – that’s why they offer three different plans with over a dozen optional add-ons, and they charge a modest per-claim service fee. With a Select Home Warranty plan on your side, you don’t have to worry about unexpected repairs and replacements – you are fully covered!

Leave Your Review

* Required fields. To help us better our reviews, please provide the email address used when signing up for this review.

10 Reviews for “Select Home Warranty”

  1. KERRY BICKHAM
    10

    this is the worst company I have every deal with. they take 2-3 days to so call find someone to come out to fix your problem. 3 out of 4 claims they have denied. they always find some small print in their long contract to say why it is not covered. my bathroom sink was clogged behind the wall I had to find a plumber after 2 days of waiting for them with no results. they spoke with the plumber then said we do not pay for clogs. also my ac unit started a leak in the ceiling . after 2 days of waiting on them the guy came and the line was clogged they refused to pay. DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY they get you with low prices, but you are paying for nothing, you will get only a few repairs done. then they transfer you from person to person. nobody makes decision them they email you a long denial via they long contract. SELECT HOME WARRENTY IS A SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted on September 26, 2016
  2. Jenn
    1

    Do not buy a home warranty from this company!!!! Find someone, anyone else!!! We have had this warranty for maybe 40 days. Something is wrong with our dryer and condensation is building up in the dryer. They say that is not covered under the warranty and to read the fine print. Well I have read the fine print over and over again but no where does it says this is not covered! I too was fed a bunch of CRAP from the sales guy and now am learning my lesson. Do not go with this company!! Run and find ANY other company!!!!

    Posted on September 14, 2015
  3. Sean
    10

    Scam scam scam. For your own good do not spend any penny with this bunch of crooks, all they do is take your money, no phone calls, hold you for long time, yell and curse you, find any excuse that is not excuse not paying you.

    On the top of that, they created their own review website “ConsumerAffairs.com”, there are all 5 stars ratings, the review there were not factual and fake by just read them. Any factual reviews and low ratings are blocked. What a bunch of cheaters? I think it is against law by doing all of these. Is there a law to sentense these criminals? How these bunch can exist in the USA to harm people and steal hard earn money?

    Posted on January 30, 2015
  4. Sean
    1

    Shopped around home warranty for quite a while, Select sales promises all the good service and coverage, and give you $45 service call and extra free months, do not mention cap, 3 months’ time restriction, sounds good huh, I bought a 5 year policy and signed contract right away.
    My dishwasher stopped working in about two and a half month after contract, they sent a technician, I paid $45 service charge, technician sent them a quote for repair, they reject the quote, they did not call me, I waited for more than a month, the technician told me they reject the quote and do not want to pay him to do the work, I called them, PAUL right away yelled at me, cursed me for a good 10 or more minutes, I called again Julian ask me to find a technician by myself to repair and they will refund, I paid the new technician $235 service charge and $700 parts and labor, he took three trips, took 2 months eventually told me the control panel went bad and it does not worth to repair, I called Select , again another person TIM did nothing but yells and curses, I called again Julian said go ahead to buy a new one and submit receipt. I bought $999.98 new dishwasher, sent paperwork to them, waited another one month, they refund me totally $200.00, said $150.00 is the limit within 3 months, give me $50 more as courtesy.
    Exactly same story for my refrigerator issues.
    I was tiring making calls, depressed for what they did to me – yelling, cursing, the time wasted, should not bring the turmoil to my calm peaceful daily life, all started from this bad choice. I ask for cancelling the policy and get money back, again, after numerous calls and almost two month’s wait, they give me money back with deduction of $65 per month prorate, plus $75 fee, and took the $200 refund back. The prorated monthly fee should be about $32 per month, fee should be $50 according to the contract. What a rip off. I file a claim at BBB, they refused to get back the extra charges. I am working with my credit card company to see what will happen.
    This company is a scam. Please listen to me, do not do business with them. Read online review carefully, many reviews did not state facts for 4-5 starts and I know those are not true, and those with low rating ones having same bad experiences as mine, please think about it yourself. For those suffer what moral and business conducts stand for those people who run this company!

    Posted on October 22, 2014
  5. Amanda
    1

    I am very dissatisfied on how a claim has been handled Select Home Warranty!!

    On 4/19/14, I called Select Home Warranty and placed a claim on a dishwasher.

    On 4/21/14, I received a call that Select Home Warranty was unable to get a dishwasher repair person to come out so I was informed that I could find someone or if I would give your company a few more day. I did not have a problem waiting a few more days.

    On 4/26/14, I called Select Home Warranty and was told that since it was a weekend, I would have to call back on Monday.

    On 4/28/14, I called Select Home Warranty and was told Select Home Warranty was still trying to get someone to come out to inspect my dishwasher.

    On 5/1/14, I called Select Home Warranty and was told Select Home Warranty was still looking for a repair person.

    On 5/5/14, I called Select Home Warranty and was told a manager would call me back within 24 hours. An hour later, a gentleman named Rick called me and needed the serial number and model number on my dishwasher. I gave this information to him.

    On 5/7/14, I received a phone call from William at Select Home Warranty and was told that $150.00 would be reimbursed for a replacement unit since they were unable to find a repair person.

    On 5/8/14, I called Select Home Warranty and spoke with Rick again. I told him that I was NOT happy with the decision of a payment of $150.00 for a replacement dishwasher. I had checked three different places in my area (Lowes Home Improvement, Sears and Home Depot) and no one had a dishwasher for less than $320.00. He said that the price came from Kmart online. I informed him that the closest Kmart was approximately 50+ miles away from my home. Plus, when I checked Kmart’s website, I did not see any dishwashers for less than $300.00. He said that he would see what he could do. Rick called me back later on 5/8/14 and told me that he got it approved fro $250.00. He said that a reimbursement form would be sent to me for a signature.

    On 5/9/14, I received the Reimbursement Form.

    On 5/14/14, I signed the Reimbursement Form and emailed the scanned form back.

    I received an email on 5/14/14, 5/15/14, 5/16/14 and 5/16/14 – stating that “The recipient server did not accept our requests to connect.”

    On 5/19/14, I called Select Home Warranty and through a conversation with Dan, we discovered that I had an incorrect email address, which they gave me. I emailed the form again.

    On 6/5/14, I called Select Home Warranty and sat on hold for 30 minutes. I called back and got a busy signal.

    On 6/9/14, I called Select Home Warranty and spoke with Nick. He said the Reimbursement Form was received and he would send a note to billing. He told me I should receive an email from Select Home Warranty within a couple of days.

    On 6/12/14, I called Select Home Warranty and sat on hold 15 minutes.

    On 6/136/14, I called Select Home Warranty and spoke with Robert. He did not seem to know what was going on with my claim. I placed me back on hold for 5 minutes (after I already sat on hold for over 30 minutes) then came back and told me a check was mailed to me. I asked the date the check was mailed and he did not know.

    So, as you can tell from the detailed information, I am very dissatisfied on how my claim has been handled. Last April (2013), I purchased a home warranty policy from Select Home Warranty and paid the premium in full. I placed one claim on 7/17/13, which was handled quickly and I was very satisfied. But this claim HAS NOT been handled quickly. Therefore, I did NOT renew my policy with Select Home Warranty and have NO plans on ever purchasing a home warranty from Select Home Warranty.

    Posted on September 6, 2014
  6. Christina S
    10

    I purchased a Select home warranty plan and my a/c went out on Saturday June 21st at 5:15 p.m. I was told that because I have a six week old infant that I would receive emergency service. I called to check the status of my claim on Sunday morning at 9 a.m. as I had still not received any communication as to who would be out to service my home. I was then advised by a representative that it was probably my freon and that was not covered, and then he told me that it could take up to 24 hours to receive a service call. I then called again Sunday evening as no call was yet made to me, to be told by their representative that the offices were closed. A technician was not dispatched to my home until Tuesday. The technician stated that the system was low on freon so that may affect the cooling temp, but also that the condenser fan motor was bad. The technician stated that he spoke with the warranty company and they advised that they would not pay. He said he could not help, but he would gladly make the repairs and I would have to pay. This is a complete breach of contract. After speaking with Select home warranty on the phone they advised that they would not cover the repair if the a/c unit had ever been worked on by anyone else ever. And that I should provide them with photos and receipts of my a/c service history. The point of having a home warranty is for the what if factor in life. They are not living up to there end of the contract, they were happy to take my money to pay for a year of service up front, just to turn around and not do any repairs that they don’t feel like covering – This is straight from my contract with Select –
    6.3.6. Air Conditioning (Central). This Agreement covers the primary floor air conditioning unit of the covered home only, provided that the air conditioning unit does not exceed a five
    (5) ton capacity. This Agreement covers the following air conditioning components: (i) motors; (ii) compressors; (iii) condensers; and (iv)thermostats

    Posted on June 24, 2014
  7. Mohamed
    10

    I spoke with Adam ext 42 when I signed up for the warranty he was very helpful and truthful.i just filed my first claim in 4 months so I called Adam and he was very nice again and he transferred me to there 24-7 claims dept. within a few hours I had the name of the contractor that was coming to my house the next day.
    Once he contractor got there it was a very simple process he fixed my ac problem I gave him 45.00 and that was it.
    The whole process was better than I expected especially with the borrow stories you hear about home warranty companies in general.
    I highly recommend SELECT if you want to not have to worry about fixing any issues that come up in your house.
    P.S.—make sure to ask for Adam ext 42 he was very helpful

    Posted on June 21, 2014
  8. Matthew
    10

    Awesome Service I just filed a claim for the 3rd time this year. Each and every claim was covered professionally and quickly just as promised.All I had to do was pay my 45.00 co-pay and they took care of the rest. I am very comfortable having my home insured with SELECT.

    Posted on June 20, 2014
  9. prudie kirkegaard
    5

    we are now in the 6th day of waiting for our money. if not here by tues I will get an attorney and get my fees also.. Gosh, I hate this place. The workers tear themselves down by working in this hell hole. Good luck to anyone who signs up for this scam of a program

    Posted on May 24, 2014
  10. Scott
    1

    This company will take your money & screw you. They will not pay out on claims & find a nikel & dime way to rip you off.
    I took a home warranty plan out with Select Home Warranty in Feb 19th this year. Policy number SHW142397. It is worth noting that I was sold the policy by Mark on ext 47. I challenged Mark hard on the claims culture & were they an honest company. He sold to me hard that they have very few declines & all claims are treated with little headache.
    On April the 7th I noticed a small leak on my pool pump which I called in & reported. I received a standard response from Select home warranty stating a service call had been issued. It stated that if after 48hrs the vendor had not called I was to contact them. By 3pm on the 9th of April the vendor had still not contacted me. I made it clear to Select home warranty that why would I want a vendor to do the work who could not even turn up or return a call. They said they would call him & ask them to call me ( they are called Aquatic Solutions) ten minutes late a guy called from Aquatic solutions & said he could not talk now but would call back later or early Thursday. He failed to call back. Again I called Julian ext 44 to ask where the vendor was & why he had not called. Again I made it clear I was not happy to pay a deductible to a vendor who can not even call me. Julian agreed & requested a new vendor to call. Chuck the pool guy called on Thursday 10th. So Select were already in breach of the policy & terms for a call out.
    Chuck arrived & told me he had a call out the blue, had never worked for Select & was going to ensure he got paid well & wanted a good size job from it. Not really looking to repair a leak. I have no idea what he quoted to Select as I have never been copied on the report. But Chuck said don’t expect it to go through as they were already questioning every cost down to how much glue he would use.
    I again on the 10th was promised a call. I heard nothing. So on Monday the 14th I call them & am told the claim is rejected.
    I was told as the pump was new & fitted under a year ago that it would be classed as a faulty install. It is not a faulty install it is a faulty o ring. I am not sure how section nine of the contract covers a faulty install. It is a faulty part on a new product. the process should have been Chuck changed the part under the manufacturer warranty. I then filed a complaint & they called me back. Rick on ext 56 said they could sort it & he would get the original vendor Aquatic Solutions to contact me that day or by noon on the 15th, if they did not call he would 100% call. Noon approached & no call. So I called home warranty. I was told to ” chill out & no vendor would be dispatched” by Rick
    It is also worth noting when I took the policy out they stated a payment plan of $125 a qtr. They tried to take the payment every month for 4 months until I spotted it. They then changed the payment plan to what was agreed.
    I am complaining.
    • As they breach the service agreement in timing & service
    • Sending vendors who submit for additional work that is not required
    • Poor customer service
    • They are corrupt at the sales front & the claims end

    Do not touch this company, no matter how hard you are sold to or how much they promise. They will not help you or pay out. They use the cheapest of vendors that I doubt are even licensed. The vendors don’t get paid enough to justify investing time in you.

    Posted on April 15, 2014